Additional counties approved for FEMA assistance

Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin has announced that sixteen additional counties will receive individual assistance from FEMA after the June 29 storms and power outages that followed. The initial declaration included only four counties: Kanawha, Nicholas, Raleigh and Fayette. Last week, the governor asked for an expansion to include twenty others, but FEMA said ok to sixteen. Putnam county will not get the individual assistance. But individuals and businesses in Boone,
Lincoln, Roane, Wood and others will. West Virginians needing assistance in the counties that will receive individual assistance are encouraged to register with FEMA by calling 1-800-621-FEMA or by visiting